Newry City Marathon – One of those days.

“On some days you get what you want, and on others, you get what you need.” – Hunter S. Thompson

As I type this, the throbbing pain in my thighs suggests all is not well. I have restricted bathroom breaks until they are absolutely vital. It’s just not worth the pain of hobbling out to the corridor. I have even considered using the bin…

I’m never running a road marathon again.

There. I said it.

I’m also aware that it’s probably a lie.

Long story short, I ran the biggest positive split ever yesterday. First half in 1.32 followed by an agonising 1.55 second half. I was on for the 3 hours 10 minutes until the cramps caught up with me and cut me down in my prime. I have never felt anything like it, I actually looked over my shoulder at one stage and my thigh muscle was on my back…ok, maybe a bit of an exaggeration.

Hobbled over the line in 3hrs 27 mins in 35th place.

Filthy cramps and their dastardly ways.

Mourne Ultra next up…Best race of the year. For this I make no predictions, I see where that got me before.

Drat.

Leave a Reply

